The front row is painted red!


Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa will start Sunday’s French Grand Prix from the front row in Magny-Cours. Finn Raikkonen secured pole position with a lap of one minute, 16.449 seconds, with Massa 0.041 secs behind. McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton, demoted 10 places after a pit-lane crash in Montreal, will start from 13th after finishing third in a time of 1:16.693. Team-mate Heikki Kovalainen was given a five-place penalty for blocking Mark Webber and now starts in 10th. Renault’s Fernando Alonso and Toyota’s Jarno Trulli will share the second row. Kovalainen had been set to start in fifth but was later hit by a penalty for impeding Webber when the Australian was on his fast lap. Championship leader, BMW Sauber’s Robert Kubica, will now occupy fifth on the grid. The BMW Saubers struggled for pace at the Circuit de Nevers, with Kubica’s team-mate Nick Heidfeld only narrowly avoiding being dumped out in the first qualifying session before having to settle for 11th on the grid. The Red Bulls of Mark Webber and David Coulthard delivered another consistent performance to start in sixth and seventh ahead of Toyota’s Timo Glock and Renault’s Nelson Piquet.

Qualifying results for the French Grand Prix

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1m 16.449
2. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:16.490
3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:16.693 *
4. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:16.840
5. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:16.920
6. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 1:16.944 **
7. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1:17.037
8. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 1:17.233
9. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull – Renault 1:17.426
10. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 1:17.596
11. Nelson Piquet (Brazil) Renault 1:15.770
12. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:15.786
13. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1:15.816
14. Sebastien Bourdais (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1:16.045
15. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams – Toyota 1:16.235 *
16. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams – Toyota 1:16.243
17. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:16.306
18. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:16.330
19. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India – Ferrari 1:16.971
20. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Ferrari 1:17.053

* = will be demoted 10 places on the grid

** = will be demoted five places on the grid


No Responses Yet to “The front row is painted red!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: